Thu 31 October 2013

Poet Helen Mort shortlisted for prestigious T.S. Eliot Prize

helen mort © keith lander
Helen Mort
(28) is one of 10 people to be shortlisted for the highly acclaimed T.S. Eliot Prize. She has been nominated for her new collection entitled Division Street, which focuses on Sheffield and the local region. For citybooks, Mort wrote about Sheffield too: a series of ten poems entitled The God of Gaps.

Mort is currently a PhD student in English Language and Literature at the University of Sheffield. She won various prizes with her poetry and her work has been published widely. Mort became the youngest ever poet in residence at the Wordsworth Trust in 2010.

The T.S. Eliot prize is in its 20th year. Previous winners include Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, John Burnside, Alice Oswald, Don Paterson, Sean O'Brien and Ted Hughes. The winner will be announced on January 13 2014 and will receive £15,000, with each of the shortlisted poets receiving £1,000. Read more…



Photo © Keith Lander



comment on this article

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

is never shown